Borys Wrzesnewskyj

Your member of parliament for

Etobicoke Centre

Borys Wrzesnewskyj

Your member of parliament for

Etobicoke Centre


Canada-Ukraine Parliamentary Friendship Group Elects New Executive

Ottawa – On April 12, Etobicoke Centre Member of Parliament Borys Wrzesnewskyj was elected Chair of the Canada-Ukraine Parliamentary Friendship Group (CUPFG) during the annual general meeting chaired by Honourable David Tkachuk, Senator. CUPFG is apparently Canada’s largest parliamentary friendship goup with 85 members and an expanded executive of 21 parliamentarians.

The purpose of the CUPFG is to provide a forum for the exchange of ideas between Canadian Parliamentarians and their counterparts in Ukraine and to promote and enhance the political, economic and cultural relations between Canada and Ukraine.

Canada and Ukraine not only have a ‘special relationship’ based upon the ties between the 1.2 million Ukrainian Canadians and their ancestral homeland, but also a strategic relationship. Canada and Ukraine both have long unprotected borders with Russia that have been challenged by the actions of Russian President Putin. I am honoured to have been elected and entrusted to act as Chair of this association at a time of tremendous geopolitical challenges to a rule-based world order that respects the inviolability of international borders. I look forward to working with my colleagues from all parties, in both the House and the Senate, as we work to strengthen the bonds of friendship and co-operation between Canada and Ukraine,” stated Wrzesnewskyj during his acceptance speech.

The Executive Officers and Directors of the CUPFG elected on 12 April 2016 are as follows:

Chair: Borys Wrzesnewskyj, M.P. (Liberal)

Vice Chairs: Hon. Raynell Andreychuk, Senator (Conservative)

James Bezan, M.P. (Conservative)

Terry Duguid, M.P. (Liberal)

Linda Duncan, M.P. (New Democratic Party)

Julie Dzerowicz, M.P. (Liberal)

James Maloney, M.P. (Liberal)

Arif Virani, M.P. (Liberal)

Secretary: Jim Eglinski, M.P. (Conservative)

Deputy Secretary: Kevin Lamoureaux, M.P. (Liberal)

Treasurer: Mark Warawa, M.P. (Conservative)

Directors (non-voting): Kerry Diotte, M.P. (Conservative)

Yvonne Jones, M.P. (Liberal)

Hon. Peter Kent, P.C., M.P. (Conservative)

Kyle Peterson, M.P. (Liberal)

Kim Rudd, M.P. (Liberal)

Don Rusnak, M.P. (Liberal)

Jamie Schmale, M.P. (Conservative)

Sven Spengemann, M.P. (Liberal)

Wayne Stetski, M.P. (New Democratic Party)

Kate Young, M.P. (Liberal)